Local consultation is vital to proper municipal planning. Residents should have a say in what’s happening in their community, but unfortunately Premier Ford’s government is not engaging in meaningful consultation in his plans to bulldoze heritage properties in the West Don Lands area of Toronto. 

We fear this will repeat itself throughout Ontario.

We invite all Ontario residents opposing arbitrary planning decisions without community input to email Premier Ford and his entire PC Caucus. All of these elected representatives are being directly affected by Ford's behaviour. Time to remind them of this. 

Below are some key points; choose one or two — it will be nice if they could get a variety of points from difference sources. Your email doesn't have to be long.

  • The PC Ontario government has not revealed anything about plans for the site of the Dominion Wheel & Foundries Co: no public consultations or coordination with the city
  • The Party did well in 2018, but 2022 could be another story. Treating communities like this will cost votes.
  • The Foundry buildings are the only buildings remaining in the area that reflect the industrial past of the district
  • Heritage belongs to everyone in Ontario
  • Any new development needs to integrate community spaces and these should be planned in consultation with the people already living in the neighbourhood
  • We need to be sure that basic infrastructure such as sewers, parking, transit, police services are keeping up with the increase in density

Write one, two, three, or all of them! Know that when you write them your email address goes into their database, so you'll probably have to unsubscribe to their newsletters at some point in the future.

Pressed for time? Here's a link to a draft letter. Feel free to copy and paste, modifying whatever you like in it.

Here are the Key Players

Doug Ford (Etobicoke North)
Premier, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
[email protected]

Steve Clark (Leeds-Grenville-Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes)
Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
[email protected]

Lisa MacLeod (Nepean)
Minister of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries
[email protected]

Kinga Surma (Etobicoke Central)
Minister of Infrastructure
[email protected]

Here are all the other Ministers

Peter Bethlenfalvy (Pickering-Uxbridge)
Minister of Finance, President of the Treasury Board
[email protected]

Paul Calandra (Markham-Stouffville)
Minister without Portfolio
[email protected]

Raymond Sung Joon Cho (Scarborough North)
Minister for Seniors and Accessibility
[email protected]

Doug Downey (Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte)
Attorney General
[email protected]

Jill Dunlop (Simcoe North)
Minister of Colleges and Universities
[email protected]

Christine Elliott (Newmarket-Aurora)
Minister of Health, Deputy Premier
[email protected]

Victor Fedeli (Nipissing)
Chair of Cabinet, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
[email protected]                                     

Merrilee Fullerton (Kanata-Carleton)
Minister of Children, Community and Social Services
[email protected]

Parm Gill (Milton)
Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism
[email protected]

Sylvia Jones (Dufferin-Caledon)
Solicitor General
[email protected]

Stephen Lecce (King-Vaughan)
Minister of Education
[email protected]

Ernie Hardeman (Oxford)
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
[email protected]

Jane McKenna (Burlington)
Associate Minister of Children and Women's Issues
[email protected]

Monte McNaughton (Lambton-Kent-Middlesex)
Minister of Labour, Training and Skills Development
[email protected]

Caroline Mulroney (York-Simcoe)
Minister of Transportation, Minister of Francophone Affairs
[email protected]

Rod Phillips (Ajax)
Minister of Long-Term Care
[email protected]

David Piccini (Northumberland—Peterborough South)
Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
[email protected]

Kaleed Rasheed (Mississauga East—Cooksville)
Associate Minister of Digital Government
[email protected]

Greg Rickford (Kenora-Rainy River)
Minister of Indigenous Affairs; Minister of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry
[email protected]la.org

Ross Romano (Sault Ste. Marie)
Minister of Government and Consumer Services
[email protected]

Prabmeet Singh Sarkaria (Brampton South)
President of the Treasury Board
[email protected]

Todd Smith (Bay of Quinte)
Minister of Energy
[email protected]

Nina Tangri (Mississauga—Streetsville)
Associate Minister of Small Business and Red Tape Reduction
[email protected]

Lisa M. Thompson (Huron-Bruce)
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
[email protected]

Michael A. Tibollo (Vaughan-Woodbridge)
Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Minister Without Portoflio
[email protected]

Bill Walker (Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound)
Minister Without Portoflio
[email protected]